QUICK FIXES THAT WORK!

The alarm goes off.  My rush hour begins!  I am NOT a morning person, so I am always looking for ways to save time.  I still have some work to do when it comes to starting my day off right (perhaps I should stop hitting the snooze button), but I have figured out how to eat healthy food no matter how rushed I am.  I’m not talking about boring, tasteless food.  I’m talking about the kind of food that makes people say, “What is that?  It looks SOOO GOOD!”  Seriously, my co-workers have food envy at lunch.

What’s my trick?  Cook a lot of food at one time… I mean a LOT!  Pick one day (mine is usually Sunday) and spend a few hours preparing food.  You can freeze most cooked meats (except for fish),  pasta, sauces, soups, fresh veggies and fruits, and on and on….

“QUICK FIX” TIPS:

  • Use a crock pot when possible (grilling, baking, broiling are all fine)
  • Cook pounds of meat at a time (think AT LEAST 4 packs of chicken breasts)
  • Keep a variety of frozen veggies on hand at all times (buy in bulk)
  • Cut up fresh veggies immediately and store in fridge in small containers
  • Chop salad greens immediately and store in airtight container in crisper
  • Make sauces and marinades in double batches and freeze leftovers
  • Pack meals and snacks for the day the night before

If you take just one day to prepare food, your life will be easier.  You don’t have to plan specific meals.  Just have a variety of healthy foods ready to go.  You can come home from work and quickly defrost a piece of cooked chicken and throw on a salad or microwave some frozen veggies.  You can also cook a sweet potato in the microwave in minutes or how about those 90 second brown rice packs?  You have a well-balanced meal for one or for a family within 10 minutes!  It can take longer than that to sit in a drive-thru for mystery meat and soggy fries!

What are your favorite time-saving strategies?  I’d love to hear from you!  Questions and comments are welcomed:)

Leave a Reply

